Ravenholdt RP Sanctum Azeroth Press The Twisting Nether Gazette Wowpedia
Forum rules
This forum is used to post threads about various roleplaying topics. It is also the place for companion threads to ongoing RP and for RP event planning. Well-written guides pertinent to a good portion of the community will be stickied as reference material.
Aerana
Aerana
Global Moderator
Aerana

A Beginner's Guide to RP

Postby Aerana » March 20th, 2014, 7:01 pm

Here are some general guidelines and places to start if you're new to role-playing or you simply would like to refresh your memory! The topics of this section include:
What if I'm new to role-play?
How do I role-play?
How do I make a believable character?

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

What if I'm new to role-play?

If you're new to roleplay or if you're a bit out of practice, there's no need to worry! The Sanctum is a great place to learn. We're a group of people who love to roleplay and we're looking to spreading roleplay around the Ravenholdt community. Thus, we're more than willing to work with anyone who simply wants to roleplay.

The Sanctum has a broad range of skill when it comes to roleplaying ability. We work with each other to develop storylines (trying to stay consistent with WoW lore), conduct RP events, and generally promote an RP environment in WoW.

We ask that those who are new to roleplay be willing to learn and to accept constructive criticism. It is never our intention to hurt anyone's feelings. At the same time, in order to foster the environment the guild seeks, sometimes a little helpful hinting is necessary (like a friendly remind that guildchat is IC). Please feel free to ask questions about roleplay in our OOC forums or in-game. You'll find that we're more than willing to help one another develop in this aspect.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

How do I role-play?

First, some basic terminology: